Kelana Jaya MP Refutes Quit Rumours

PETALING JAYA, Feb 7 – Kelana Jaya MP Loh Gwo-Burne (pic) has dismissed rumours that he intends to leave PKR and took great pains to declare his unequivocal support for the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) coalition.
Famous for being the man who captured the Lingam video clip, Loh’s name is among several named to jump ship as PKR de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim faces a potentially career-ending sodomy trial.
“Over the past week or so, there have been rumours regarding PKR MPs leaving PKR, either going independent or joining Barisan National.
“I cannot comprehend how my name has been mentioned many times as one of these MPs. My friends who know me well know that there is no truth to this,” Loh told reporters at his Sunway Mentari office.
The first-term MP was accompanied at the press conference by DAP Senator S. Ramakrishan and PKR Kapar MP SM Manikavasagam, who both affirmed Loh’s allegiance to the coalition.

Loh maintained that “under no circumstances” would he even consider leaving his party, and assured the public that his working relationship with PKR and PR as a whole was good.
“I want to state clearly that there is no truth in these allegations and speculation. I am not, not going to leave PR or PKR,” explained Loh, who said that Ramakrishnan’s presence today solidified the fact that the opposition coalition was still “intact.”
He also took the opportunity to remind PR leaders that they were given a “mandate” by the people to usher the nation into a new direction, and that the “bickering” among some leaders had to stop for the sake of the country’s future.
“I believe that this is their egos talking, fighting among themselves. I urge all PR leaders to please put your egos aside, stop being childish and behave in a more mature manner.”
Meanwhile, Manikavasagam admitted that tensions have arisen because many of PR politicians had “strong personalities” and some differences of ideas.
“A lot of our MPs have strong personalities, some differences which have resulted in some disagreements, but this is a very small problem,” quipped the Kapar MP in dismissing talk the pact was fraying.
He noted that the success of the drafting of the CPC (Common Policy Framework) showed that the party leaders of PKR, PAS and DAP had agreed to a common manifesto.
However, he conceded that some leaders were still going through an “adjusting period.”
“Gwo-Burne, myself, Tan Tee Beng (Nibong Tebal MP) and Wee Choo Keong (Wangsa Maju MP) are very close, we “turun padang” (do down to the grassroots) and are still loyal to Pakatan Rakyat,” he added.
Manikavasagam’s statement comes amid the controversy surrounding Tan who has openly supported PKR’s Datuk Zahrain Mohd Hashim (Bayan Baru MP) against Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng and complained of ill-treatment as he did not get allocations from the state government unlike DAP federal lawmakers.
“No MPs will jump the party, it is not that easy. This is all speculative.
“I have been trying to get Tan for the past three days. Even though I could not reach him, I assure you he won’t jump. He won’t cross over.
“We have been conducting ceramahs all over ... we are all solid behind Anwar, we will support him all out,” quipped the Kapar MP.
Manikavasagam also dismissed growing speculation that Zahrain would quit and insisted that the one-time Umno man remained loyal to PKR’s struggles.
He however declined to comment on the PKR’s politicial bureau’s decision to act against Tan and Zahrain.
PKR has decided to haul up the Nibong Tebal MP for his strident criticism of Penang chief minister Lim Guan Eng last week, making him the fourth party leader to face its disciplinary board for various offences.
The PKR political bureau made the decision at its meeting last Wednesday and will notify the ex-Gerakan man on Monday to meet the disciplinary board within 30 days, party secretary-general Saifuddin Nasution Ismail told The Malaysian Insider.
It is understood that the first-time MP is being investigated for not using internal channels to voice his dissatisfaction against the DAP secretary-general.
PKR, DAP and PAS form the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) which captured four more states – in addition to Kelantan which PAS controlled prior to the elections – and 82 parliamentary seats in Election 2008.
No PKR leader has ever been actually punished despite several disciplinary hearings. Tan joins Kulim Bandar Baharu MP Zulkifli Noordin,  Zahrain and party supreme council member Datuk Zaid Ibrahim to be referred to the board in the past 10 days.

Tiada ulasan:

Catat Ulasan

Amazon Deals